Take 20% off your order using coupon code READMORE at checkout!

The River of Goodness

The River of Goodness

Regular price
Sale price
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price
Shipping calculated at checkout.

By David Marquis

The River of Goodness is a lyrical, global exploration of the ways we can create a more just and sustainable world for all, from the author of The River Always Wins and I Am a Teacher

Publication Date: July 16, 2024

Hardback ISBN: 9781646053131
eBook ISBN: 9781646053285


Every day, posits Marquis, every single human has to make a choice: accept the world the way it is or work to make it better. Each of us can pursue the work of goodness in many ways. The River of Goodness, the second volume in Marquis’s River Trilogy, provides real-world examples of people who have taken on the work of goodness, whether through thankless tasks or in dangerous and challenging circumstances. 

This follow-up to Marquis’s beloved first volume, The River Always Wins, argues that making the world better is rooted in the hard daily work of creating change that lasts.

Biographical Note

David Marquis is a long-time committed activist for environmental and social change in the Dallas area. He is the author of I Am A Teacher (Simon & Schuster), which became a series of widely performed plays. He founded the Oak Cliff Nature Preserve in Dallas and has consulted with the Texas Conservation Alliance since 2011. The first book in this series, The River Always Wins, was published by Deep Vellum in 2020.